Uttarakhand News

Election Commission to announce poll dates for Uttarakhand today

Election Commission is expected to formally announce the poll dates for five poll-bound states – Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Manipur, Goa and Uttarakhand today. A press conference scheduled at noon, chaired by Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi is expected to reveal the dates for all five poll-bound states. These dates will include when each state will vote as well as the dates for counting. The last date for filing nominations will also be declared.

Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi will declare polling dates for five poll-bound states. Image: NDTV.com

Tight security for upcoming assembly polls

Union Home Ministry is expected to provide around 80,000 security personnel for the smooth conduct of the elections in five poll-bound states. Around 100 companies belonging to State Armed Forces and India Reserve Battalions are likely to be deployed for election duties.

The legislative term in Uttarakhand will formally come to an end on March 26. The total number of assembly seats in Uttarakhand is 70. The model code of conduct or Aachar Sanhita will come to effect immediately after the press conference.

Source: Indian Express