Uttarakhand News

2017 Uttarakhand Elections: Voting to be held on Feb 15 & Results on March 11

The Election Commission announced that the Assembly elections for the 70 seats in Uttarakhand will be held on February 15 this year and the results between the ruling party Congress and BJP will be declared on March 11. Back in 2012 Assembly elections, Congress gave a tough fight to BJP and defeated it by winning 32 seats against 31 seats and relying on the support of the independent legislators. However, this time the Congress government which was re-established by the Supreme Court after the President’s Rule was enforced on it prior this year, can face a hard time from BJP.

Ever since, Uttarakhand has been formed, it has seen the governance of BJP and Congress. In the year 2012, Congress party was aided by an anti-incumbency wave against the ruling BJP party and this year, they are facing the same challenge.

Here’s a quick reminder for the 2017 Uttarakhand Elections:

Number of seats: 70
Ruling party: Congress
Elections to be held on February 15
Results will be announced on March 11

An analysis of Uttarakhand Assembly Election Results 2012

Congress: 32 seats, 33.79% vote share
BJP:  31 seats; 33.13% vote share
Others: 7 seats

An analysis of Lok Sabha Election Results 2014

Congress: 0 seats, 34% vote share
BJP: 5 seats, 55.3% vote share
Others: 0 seats, 10.7% vote share

Kedarnath, Rudraprayag, Ghansali, Narendranagar, Tehri, Raipur, Roorkee, Dharchula, Ranikhet and Haldwani are the key constituencies of Uttarakhand. While leaders such as Harish Rawat, Bhagat Singh Koshiyari, BC Khanduri, Vijay Bahuguna, Harak Singh Rawat, Satpal Maharaj, Ajay Bhatt, Kishor Upadhaya and Indira Hridayesh will be the key players in the poll.